Listen Live

Four-time Super Bowl champion Donnie Shell, who starred for the Pittsburgh Steelers’ “Steel Curtain” defense of the 1970s, and former NFL Films president Steve Sabol were among the 13 newest members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s centennial class, the NFL announced Wednesday.

The class includes two coaches, three contributors and 10 senior players, ESPN reported.


Former players chosen for enshrinement included Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver Harold Carmichael, Detroit Lions defensive lineman Alex Karras, Chicago Bears offensive tackle Jim Covert, New York Jets offensive tackle Winston Hill, Green Bay Packers safety Bobby Dillon and Bears defensive end Ed Sprinkle. Also chosen was Duke Slater, one of the first black players in NFL history.


“I am numb right now,” Carmichael said Wednesday on NFL Network. “I had a flashback from 60-some years ago, thinking about the guys that helped me get here.

“This is the ultimate honor you get in the National Football League.”


In addition to Sabol — whose father, Ed Sabol was enshrined in the Hall of Fame in 2011 — former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime general manager George Young were elected.

Former Steelers coach Bill Cowher and former Dallas Cowboys coach Jimmy Johnson were named to the Hall of Fame this past weekend.


The centennial class was chosen by a special “blue-ribbon panel,” which included members of the Hall of Fame’s board of selectors, Hall of Famers, NFL historians and New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick, ESPN reported.

Modern-era players for the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020 will be chosen in Miami Beach on Feb. 1 on the eve of Super Bowl LIV. Those players will be enshrined in Canton in August.