Listen Live

The National Recording Registry has a new class of inductees that run the gamut of entertainment and historical events.

>> Read more trending news

The Library of Congress announced this week that the debut albums from Wu-Tang Clan and Alicia Keys will join songs “Livin’ La Vida Loca” and “Bohemian Rhapsody” in the 2022 induction, The Associated Press reported.

Keys released “Songs In A Minor” in 2001, launching her fusion of jazz, R&B and hip hop. The album netted her five Grammy awards and was certified seven-times multiplatinum.

Wu-Tang Clan released their “Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) album in 1993. It combined East Coast rap with kung fu film stories and samples.

Linda Ronstadt’s tribute to her Mexican-American family, “Canciones de Mi Padre,” A Tribe Called Quests’ “The Low End Theory” and the “Buena Vista Social Club” were also among the 2022 album inductees.

As for songs, along with Ricky Martin’s megahit “Livin’ La Vida Loca” and Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody,” Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin,’” Ernest Tubb’s “Walking the Floor Over You,” Andy Williams’ “Moon River” and The Four Tops “Reach Out, I’ll Be There” were selected for individual induction into the registry, the AP reported.

Disneyland’s “It’s a Small World” performed by Disneyland Boys Choir in 1964 was also selected, Billboard reported.

WNYC’s Sept. 11, 2001, live broadcast and Marc Maron’s interview with Robin Williams for Maron’s podcast were also selected.

Overall, the selections span a period of 89 years, starting with James P. Johnson’s 1921 “Harlem Strut” and ending with Maron’s 2010 podcast, bringing the registry to 600 entries, Billboard reported.

All were chosen for their “cultural, historical or aesthetic importance in the nation’s recorded sound heritage,” The Washington Post reported.

To make the cut, the National Recording Preservation Act of 2000 requires the Librarian of Congress to select 25 titles every year with input from the National Recording Preservation Board. The only rule is that the recording be at least 10 years old, according to Billboard.

See below for the complete list of entries:

  • “Harlem Strut” — James P. Johnson, 1921
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt: Complete Presidential Speeches, 1933-1945
  • ”Walking the Floor Over You” (single) — Ernest Tubb, 1941
  • ”On a Note of Triumph” Norman Corwin, May 8, 1945
  • ”Jesus Gave Me Water” (single) — The Soul Stirrers, 1950
  • “Ellington at Newport” (album) — Duke Ellington, 1956
  • “We Insist! Max Roach’s Freedom Now Suite” (album)— Max Roach, 1960
  • ”The Christmas Song” (single) — Nat King Cole, 1961
  • “Tonight’s the Night” (album) — The Shirelles, 1961
  • ”Moon River” (single) — Andy Williams, 1962
  • “In C” (album) — Terry Riley, 1968
  • ”It’s a Small World” (single) — The Disneyland Boys Choir, 1964
  • ”Reach Out, I’ll Be There” (single) — The Four Tops, 1966
  • Hank Aaron’s 715th Career Home Run, April 8, 1974
  • ”Bohemian Rhapsody” (single) — Queen, 1975
  • ”Don’t Stop Believin’”(single) — Journey, 1981
  • “Canciones de Mi Padre” (album) — Linda Ronstadt, 1987
  • “Nick of Time” (album) — Bonnie Raitt, 1989
  • “The Low End Theory” (album) — A Tribe Called Quest, 1991
  • “Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers)” (album) — Wu-Tang Clan, 1993
  • “Buena Vista Social Club,” (album) — Buena Vista Social Club, 1997
  • ”Livin’ La Vida Loca” (single) — Ricky Martin, 1999
  • “Songs in A Minor “ (album) — Alicia Keys, 2001
  • WNYC broadcasts for the day of 9/11, (Sept. 11, 2001)
  • ”WTF with Marc Maron” (Guest: Robin Williams), April 26, 2010